Reciprocal License Agreements:

North Dakota is part of a Multi-State Reciprocal Licensing Group.  The reciprocal licensing agreement applies to Master and Journeyman electricians.

►      National Electrical Reciprocal Alliance (NERA) - Home (

Master and Journeyman Licenses

  • Minnesota
  • South Dakota

Journeyman Licenses Only

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire 
  • Utah
  • Wyoming


Downloadable/Fillable Form



 To qualify for a reciprocal license the applicant must meet certain requirements.

  1. The applicant must have passed a written examination from the state in which you plan on reciprocating from; AND

  2. Provide proof of 8,000 hours (Journeyman) / 10,000 (Master) of electrical construction experience under the supervision of a contracting master in an area where electrical construction work is done in the jurisdiction regulating similar licensing and inspection rules of the state of North Dakota; AND

  3. Possess a valid license that is current, active and in good standing; AND

  4. Have held that license continuously during the one (1) year period prior to requesting reciprocity.


Application procedures apply, however, no written examination shall be required for a reciprocal license.

 Application Fee   

  • $25.00 (Journeyman)
  • $50.00 (Master)


Additionally, upon final verification and approval

License Fee

  • $25.00 (Journeyman)
  • $50.00 (Master)


Applicants applying for a reciprocal license in a state where they have failed the written examination shall not be eligible for a reciprocal license in that state.